Framed Memories – Past and Present

Kirsten Jae on a hammock at my Parent’s house – Balungao Calumpit

Whenever I go back to my hometown I always forget to take a single photo of where I grew up. I always finish a photo project or a video project but regretfully forget to snap a photo of the greatest thing in my childhood. This place always gives me a sense of solace. I don’t feel rushed and stressed out when I’m there. I can definitely kick back relax and enjoy the view or the moment. Maybe I can only say it because I’m on vacation but I really feel that there’s something more to it than a feeling of nostalgia. Now that I’m a Dad myself I’m glad to have introduce to my daughter Kirsten Jae the place where I played, got dirty, broke a bone, bitten by a dog, climbed, fell and got scolded. When every time I go to my Mom and Dad’s house I only just take photos of my nephews Keon and Kurt but now I even manage to take snaps of some random stuff in Balungao and my Grand Parents place in Calizon. This is a bit different from the photos I feature on this site. You might love or hate it but I definitely enjoyed taking the photos.

Kirsten Jae at the river bank - Pampangga River

My nephew Keon on a hammock in front of my Parent’s house – Balungao Calumpit

Kirsten Jae at the river bank - Pampangga River

Kirsten Jae at the river bank – Pampanga River (Calizon Calumpit Bulacan)

Kirsten Jae looking at the River

Kirsten Jae looking at the River

Kirsten Jae and Keon on a hammok – Kambal ng Tadhana

Keon and Kae trying out A Tricycle (Traditional Filipino Transport)

Keon and Kae trying out A Tricycle (Traditional Filipino Transport)

It’s always nice to go back on memory lane specially when the memories were from your childhood. An OZ come to life where fairies and monsters do exists and time seems frozen.Every place has a story from the river that consumes a child every year and my Grand Parent’s house that is the center of of the universe for me and my siblings. I remember making a journal about mythological creatures I got the idea from the movie Monster Squad from the 80’s. I drew the monster’s image a make a description and how the monster will be defeated. That is my everyday adventure how to capture one in real life. Oh they are real alright! – in my imagination. We make existing legends more exciting by adding some details that is necessary to the part we’re playing in. We know every water-well and people who have died there stranded for years as far as our imagination is concern (people have died there). Then the much more modern approach for the supernatural strikes me – This is the time of The GhostBusters! Of course! There should be a logical explanation and scientific explanation to all this phenomenon. Every movie and cartoon episode is like a bible of ghosts and mythical creatures for me. Some may not relate on what I’m babbling about but if you grew-up from the 80’s to the mid 90’s this might sound familiar to you. All those Kapre (Tree Troll), Tikbalang (Man-horse), Manananggal (Winged Half-body Female creature), Duwende (Smurf-like creatures with good or black magic) and Tiktik (not the tabloid but a more accurate description is almost the same as the Chupacabra but instead of sucking goats they suck fetuses from pregnant women – weird right? ) and the White Lady (lost ghost from a tragic death) is as real as the places where I grew up. They say if you don’t believe on these stuff (same as Santa and the Easter Bunny from the west) as a kid you might end up as a serial killer (or worst a politician). My grand parent’s house endure all the floods and typhoon mother nature has to offer but it’s still standing today. Here are more photos from the  place where I grew up.

A power-saving cooking range. A best way to save gas.

Ming-ming (small cat) and Meow-meow (big one) both stray cats that found shelter on our backyard.

Ming-ming (small cat) and Meow-meow (big one) both stray cats that found shelter on our backyard – Balungao Calumpit Bulacan

My Grandparents House - Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

My Grandparents House – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Dungaw sa Bintana (Looking through the Window) - Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Dungaw sa Bintana (Looking through the Window) – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Grandparent's House - Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Grandparent’s House – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Encyclopedia Britanica that I used to read when I was on primary school

Encyclopedia Britannica that I used to read when I was on primary school

My Mom’s graduation photo. Talk about Throwback Thursdays 🙂

Ninang (God Mother) Dolly’s Highschool Pic. Another entry for Throwback Thursday 🙂

Our Papa darling showing his catch of the day – a sword fish from his fishing days. We miss our Mama Darling and Papa Darling!!! See the red dot on the eye of the fish? Yup. Guilty as charged.

Ninong (God Father) Rhay at my Grand Parents house – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

Kirsten Jae fishing with her Lolo Ome. Look at her reel!!!

Lolo Ome teaching Kirsten Jae how to fish

Kirsten Jae on a Mango Tree – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

A typical Bahay Kubo (Nipa Hut) – Calizon Calumpit Bulacan

I hope you liked these series of photos from the place where I grew up. What more can you wish for when everything as simple as this can make you’re life happy and rich. Think about it, now in our modern lifestyles we lost touch of our surroundings and focus on a small device we hold dearly – smartphones. This is not life people! That is ludicrous. Like Einstein said “It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.”. Sooner or later will all be back to doing the basics in life. Technology is not bad it is actually good (in the right hands) ’cause I won’t be able to right this stuff or take beautiful photos without the help of technology and besides my profession primarily depends on technology. I’m just saying that there is more to life than Facebook and web chatting. Go out live life, climb a tree or a mountain, swim on a river or beach, look at the stars and be (totally) free.

To view the complete series check my Flickr set here >>> http://www.flickr.com/photos/krisgironellaphotography/sets/72157640469474454/

If you like what I do here please give some love – subscribe, like, share and comment. Free of charge!!! Peace out!

Leave a Reply

