Memphis May Fire Live @ The Axis Hall Singapore

Matty Mullins – Power Vocals [click image]

The Show

Memphis May Fire is the fisrt concert I shot for the year 2013 and I say it’s a great start. Summer is almost here in Southeast Asia and we need rain and it came but in a form of …fire?  That is Memphis May Fire but it’s only March? Yeah I know I’m bad at jokes but seriously this band made it rain fire!

This metalcore or post-hardcore band from Dallas Texas (yup home of the NFL Cowboys) ride the show like a freakin’ wild stallion – full of raw energy . They remind me of another band I love called Underoath. Matty (vocals) is having trouble with the audio feedback but still pulled it off.

The Lights

I enjoyed taking photos and videos [check it here] although the lighting is not that grand but manageable, usually in this type of situation my handy dandy Nikon 50mm F1.4G helps a lot specially on the video. My all around workhorse Nikon D700 with Nikon 24-70mm F2.8G did an excellent job. Too bad I left my Nikon 70-200mm F2.8G VR II – it could have been very helpful for the very constricting stage. There is no room to work in front  of the stage so I decided to stay on the side perimeters. In-between songs I switch from both end of the stage which is accessible only through the stage no back stage or any secret passage so switching positions is not very discreet but I tried my best not to interfere with the performance.

Kellen McGregor – Lead Guitar

The Sound

MMF’s sound is like a stallion hitting you hard in the head with spiky horseshoes and the imprint will linger on your eardrums like a sore infection. Total performance is great with minor hiccups not on MMF’s side but on the sound tech which is understandable. We all came to have fun and heck if you know the song just sing-a-long!

Cory Elder – Bass

Band Members

  • Cory Elder – bass guitar
  • Kellen McGregor – lead guitar
  • Matty Mullins – lead vocals
  • Jake Garland – drums
  • Anthony Sepe – rhythm guitar

Memphis May Fire Live @ Axis Hall Textile Center Singapore 2013 Presented by Reconstrux Booking

Final Thougts

Reconstrux Booking has done it again, a sign of great things to come.  It’s always a pleasure to work with people who shares the same interest and passion either in music or in arts. In a chaotic place we call the mosh-pit is a good opportunity to meet new faces and bump into old ones and create new friends. We are expecting more brutal line-up this year from them and my photography arsenal is ready for them.

Jake Garland – Drummer

Gears Used

– Nikon D700

– Nikon 24-70mm F2.8G

– Nikon 50mm F1.4G

– Canon EOS 60D

– Novoflex Lens Adapter

To view the complete high resolution images visit my Flickr Photostream

If you haven’t seen the videos you can see it here.

Hope you enjoyed the photos. Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

