WOLFGANG Live @ Bay Beats 2011

It’s been almost 10 years since I saw their last show. I think it was at Soup Kitchen or something (way, way back). I’m not ashame to admit that I still have their albums in cassette tapes – Wolfgang (self-titled album), Semenelin and Wurm, unfortunately I don’t have last few albums but will definitely get the latest album – “Villains”. The venue is full of raging fans thirsty of pure Woflgang high-octane heavy metal fuel. The new drummer Francis Aquino proved himself worthy of replacing Wolf Gemora former drummer of the band by showing audience what a true beat master is all about.  At first the the sound is a bit sketchy but they picked-up the pace  after a couple of songs. All-in all I have no complains, it’s what we expect from a Wolfgang performance – heavy and raw . It’s the 2nd time I’ve seen Manuel Legarda shredding his guitar in Singapore but not with Wolfgang, last time is with another hard rocking band “Razorback”. He was introduces as the new lead/rhythm guitar for the band. Every Pinoy (almost) including me knows every words on every Wolfgang song, hearing everyone singing in chorus will give you goosebumps – It takes me back to my late high-school days and early college days. As expected there are lotsa girls everywhere! I guess more than half of the female crowd there has a dog or a kid named “Basti”. O man! (sigh) And every dude want’s to be like good ol’ Basti. His roaring heavy metal voice – a combination of Eddie Veder  & James Hetfeild gives life to the hard guitar riffs of Manuel Legarda, mixed it with pumped-up funky baseline of Mon Legaspi and thunder rolls of Francis Aquino surely Wolfgang is ready to eat you alive like a hungry pack of wolves in a thick forest of doom. Another awesome performance from the Pinoy Gods of Heavy Metal hopefully they will return for a full concert next year.

Wolfgang @ Bay Beats 2011

Wolfgang @ Bay Beats 2011 - August 21, 2011

@ The Powerhouse Stage

The stage is big as a full concert stage complete with lasers, smoke machine and spotlights which is a good elements that adds effects on my shots. I was located at the far left side (near the stage) which is also not a bad view angle, my only concern is having the same shot (angle) all through out the show so I need to anticipate the bands flow and compose my framing accurately. There’s also this girl in front of me jumping up and down I’m afraid the lens will bump on her head so I need to strategize carefully or else she’ll end up hitting my lens or her boyfriend will get pissed-off. I think she’s giving me a chance to shoot, one thing I’ve notice is that she stops moving whenever I’m about to point & click my camera. I also give her a chance to dance around – her Q is when I put away my 70-200mm lens then she starts wiggling agin (hehe). I can’t say that my position is the best, it’s also not that bad, I just need to make the best out of it and I’ve experienced worst. Most of the photos were shot at 3200-4000 ISO hence the film grain-like noise. Shutter speed at 1/80 – 1/100 of a second with aperture of f2.8 – 4. I always bring my work horse lenses Nikon 24-70mm f2.8G and Nikon 70-200mm f2.8G VR II and once in a while I use the 16-35mm F4 VR II for some special wide-angle shots.

The Wolf  Pack

Here are few of the photos I took during the blasting performance of Wolfgang Live @ Baybeats 2011. Hope you’ll like it. Full set and exif info can be viewed at My Flickr Photostream.

Wolfgang - Basti Artadi

Wolfgang - Basti Artadi

Wolfgang - Manuel Legarda

Wolfgang - Manuel Legarda

Wolfgang - Mon Legaspi

Wolfgang - Mon Legaspi

Wolfgang - Francis Aquino

Wolfgang - Francis Aquino

Manuel & Basti

Manuel & Basti

Wolfgang

Wolfgang

Mon Legaspi with Fans

Mon Legaspi with Fans

Basti Artadi with Fans

Basti Artadi with Fans

Manuel Legarda with Fans

Manuel Legarda with Fans

Final Notes

No doubt that Wolfgang is still the best Pinoy heavy metal band of all times. Even though I’m tired of shouting, taking photos, jumping around and dragging my heavy gears around the mosh-pit… it’s  still worth it. Definitely I will shoot their next concert. Thanks to Bay Beats 2011 for this one hella event. ‘Til next article. Cheers! Full set and exif info can be viewed at My Flickr Photostream. All photos taken with Nikon D700, Nikon 24-70mm f2.8G and Nikon 70-200mm F2.8G VR II. All Rights Reserved 2011.

3 comments on “WOLFGANG Live @ Bay Beats 2011

  1. It was like in a time machine being there and experiencing a “Wolfgang Concert”. Been to almost all their gigs (if my allowance permits) back then. Now as a professional working in a day job, you find a piece of yourself, hey, once a wolfgang always a wolfgang…
    It was really awesome to hear them to just flow with the music, except for most of the pps holding their piece of technology just to capture the moment. I should say… Hey man, let it go. Just embrace the music and mosh with me. \m/

    • Yeah I should just left my gear and slam-dance at the mosh pit with you but then again I have a story to tell and moments to capture – fan’s moments with Wolfgang – hardcore fans like you. Thanks for viewing. Cheers!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

