Silverstein – Rescue Tour 2011

I’ve been waiting for almost 6 years  for this post-hardcore band to come in Southeast Asia that’s the span of time I got My first Silverstein album – When Broken Is Easily Fixed and guess what, they did on July 12, 2011 in Singapore… duh I won’t be righting this if they haven’t. I’m a big fan I admit, I have all the albums and I know most of the songs by heart. I love the raw aggression and sometimes full of emotion songs they make. Basically all of their songs are love songs for the broken-heart(ed) that’s why sometimes they are labeled as “screamo”. I’d prefer calling them post-hardcore or in some cases – metalcore. Their sound is inline with big names in the same genre (which also my favorites) like Funeral For A Friend, Haste The Day, Hawthorne Heights, Under Oath, Story Of The Year and too may bands to mention. Technically the transition of tempos and riffs and the casual growl/scream are the highlights of most of the songs – heavy, fast and aggressive.

Silverstein

Silverstein

The Stage

The venue is okay but the lighting for me is quite flat. No spotlights, no lasers and no strobes only florescent lighting but have to give credit for the sound tech – the audio is perfect! Every thing is balance crisp sound as if you’re listening to a CD with Hi-fi Dolby surround sound.  The band performed really well no doubt about it, one of the best acts of their genre.

The Shots

Here are few photos from the show. I saw Silverstein before the show starts going to the dressing room. Bumber that I didn’t took their photo while walking down the corridor would have been an awesome shot. Call me old fashion but I thought it would be better if I ask their permission so I’ve waited. I saw bassist Billy Hamilton came out and sat beside the bench where me and my wife are sitting. I also wanted to take a stolen shot of him texting on his phone but I thought that would be inappropriate, I’m not a greedy paparazzi to do that so I approach him and introduce myself and ask if I could take a group photo of the band… he said yes but unfortunately they came out the other exit so I have to wait until the the show is over. Well the group photo didn’t happen ’cause after the show the fans just swarm them like bees on a sweet nectar of a sunflower. Here’s an advise If your guts tells you to do something, do it right away. In spite of the small crowded room I manage to take photos. By the way the ISO I used here ranges from 3500 -4000, all in manual exposure mode. Hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy taking them.

Silverstein - Shane Told

Shane Told

Silverstein - Neil Boshart

Neil Boshart

Silverstein - Paul Koehler

Paul Koehler

Silverstein - Josh Bradford

Josh Bradford

Silverstein - Billy Hamilton

Billy Hamilton

Silverstein - Rescue Tour 2011

Rescue Tour 2011

Final Note

All in all the show is great regardless of venue as long as the crowd is truly into the scene I have no problem with that.  The challenge of having a small venue, bad lighting and fast-paced action is not a walk in the park but after all that jazz I can say it’s all worth it. Do not hesitate just do it.

All photos were taken with Nikon D700, Nikon 24-70mm F2.8G and Nikon 70-200mm F2.8G VR II. To view the complete Silverstein – Rescue Tour 2011 set visit my Flickr Photostream. Hope you like it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

